4.7 C

UP Urban Body Elections: 86 Councilors, including 1 Municipal Corporation Mayor and 1 Nagar Panchayat President, won without contesting the elections

Must read

Lucknow: The recently concluded Uttar Pradesh Urban Body Elections 2023 have created quite a stir as a significant number of candidates emerged victorious without even contesting the elections. This unexpected turn of events has garnered attention across the state and raised questions about the electoral process. Let’s delve into the details of this unique situation and explore the implications it holds.

Unopposed Victories in the First Phase

The Urban Body Elections in Uttar Pradesh were conducted in two phases, with the first phase spanning from May 4 to May 11. To everyone’s surprise, one Municipal Corporation Mayor, one Nagar Panchayat President, and a staggering 86 Councilors and Members were elected unopposed during this phase. The Chief Electoral Officer of Uttar Pradesh, Manoj Kumar, provided this astonishing information, leaving many puzzled about the circumstances surrounding these uncontested victories.

According to Manoj Kumar, a total of 86 candidates secured their positions without facing any opposition in the first phase. Notably, Agra district witnessed the election of one Nagar Panchayat President and 11 Councilors without any contest. Additionally, in the Municipal Corporations of Mathura, Gorakhpur, and Moradabad, two Councilors each were elected unopposed. In Jhansi, Firozabad, and Saharanpur Municipal Corporations, one Councilor from each district emerged victorious without any contest. The trend continued in the Nagar Panchayats, where a total of 37 members were elected unopposed, including 13 from Agra, 10 from Maharajganj, 3 from Gonda, and 2 each from Kushinagar, Prayagraj, Fatehpur, and Mainpuri, along with 1 each from Gonda and Shravasti.

Uncontested Victories in Jhansi District

Apart from the aforementioned unopposed victories, Jhansi district witnessed another interesting turn of events. In addition to one Municipal Corporation Mayor, an astounding number of 36 members of Nagar Palika Parishads were elected unopposed in various districts. This revelation highlights a notable shift in the electoral dynamics of the region, sparking discussions about the factors contributing to such outcomes.

Within Jhansi district, the uncontested winners include 9 members from Agra Nagar Palika Parishad, 4 each from Rampur and Shamli, 3 from Saharanpur, and 2 each from Gonda, Jhansi, Mathura, and Lakhimpur Kheri. Furthermore, one member each from Jalaun, Fatehpur, Firozabad, Bahraich, Maharajganj, Sambhal, Sitapur, and Hardoi Nagar Palika Parishads emerged victorious without encountering any opposition.

Analyzing the Unprecedented Scenario

The unopposed victories witnessed in the UP Urban Body Elections have ignited a wave of curiosity among political analysts, citizens, and stakeholders. While there may be various reasons behind these outcomes, it is crucial to explore the possible factors that contributed to this unusual phenomenon.

One plausible explanation could be the strategic calculations made by the political parties during candidate selection. It is not uncommon for parties to carefully assess the competition and nominate candidates who have a higher likelihood of emerging victorious without contest. Such a move can save time, effort, and resources, ultimately leading to an uncontested victory.

Moreover, factors like strong local influence, alliances, and pre-election negotiations may have played a significant role in discouraging potential opponents from contesting against these candidates. This could have created a favorable environment for the un

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article